Favoriate of ’08 Challenge

I’ve been having a harder time than normal this week trying to decide my favorite photo of 2008 for this week’s Exposaroonie Challenge.  I am seriously at a loss.  How do I choose?? Do I choose the one that I’m most proud of because I got the shot I was actually trying to get? Or do I go for the one that I think represents the best of what I have learned this year? (rule of thirds, textures, etc.) Or do I choose the one that speaks to me in a way that pulls at my heart like no other photo?  Do I choose one of the four animals I have?  How do I narrow down which animal?  Or do I choose the lucky shot that I got by accident but still love?? Or do I choose someone else’s beloved animal? Since I know that there is a plethora of super talented photographers out there with waaaayyyyy more talent than I have, it doesn’t make my decision any easier.  Maybe I’ve been over thinking it, but the photo I choose, I really want it to shine, ya know?  I want people to look at it and feel what I feel when I look at it.  Is that weird??  I’ve been putting A LOT of thought into this (captain obvious, here) and I’ve narrowed it down to a handful of pictures that I love for different reasons and I’ll be submitting one of them later today.  You’ll have to go over there and check it out (and vote!) after Saturday to see which one I chose.

In other news, Will and I are going to start packing this weekend in preparation for our move into the one bedroom.  I’m really looking forward to downsizing (something I’m sure you don’t hear people say a lot) because I’m really tired of having the laundry room on the ground floor in the garage and the bedroom and closets on the third floor.  It’s really tough when I do the laundry for just two people and it’s 4 freakin’ loads a week!!  That is a lot of laundry to cart up and down two flights of stairs every week.  Plus, vaccuuming the inside stairs and sweeping the others (outdoor carpet in the foyer) sucks big time.  I’ll be ready to have everything in a smaller area with less to clean.  Downsizing also forces us to re-evaluate what is important to us and streamline our possessions because we won’t have room for everything.  We’ve had the two beds that we each respectively had before we started dating, but we’ve been sleeping in the bed Will had because it was a king size and mine was a queen.  Now, we’ll be throwing out his mattress and box springs (because they suck) and downsizing into the queen because it is infinitely more comfortable, even if it is smaller.  Plus, my bed matches the bedroom furniture we’ve been using, so we’ll actually have a grownup bedroom again and that is something that we’re both looking forward to.  Unfortunately, the really nice bedding that we have is for the king, so we’ll have to remedy that situation.   Linen’s N Things is having a going out of business sale, so we may pop in over there this weekend and see what deals we can get on some new bedroom linens.  We also need a more grown up bathroom.  We’ve been using the same things I’ve had since college, and it’s no longer pretty and it doesn’t suite us.  (I saw shower curtains on sale for $7.49 at the Linen’s N Things website!!) Even though I really hate the physical packing, moving, and unpacking parts, but I love the organization and cleanliness of a new place.  Pros and cons, you know?

Some other plans for the weekend include a Thrasher/Panthers game Saturday with Trent and Nicole, haircuts for Will and myself (before and after pics, I promise!)  and possibly some other new items for the home.  I hope everyone has a great weekend!!

Leave a Reply

