on a little bit of everything

 

So, you might want to settle in, get comfortable, and be prepared to be here a while.  I’ve been absent for over a week because of holiday travel, general laziness, and returning-to-work-after-a-week-off responsibilities.  I’m sure you understand.  So let’s start with the holiday travel.  (I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday, btw.)

Will and I left last Saturday morning, homebound to Atlanta (Newnan, actually, but most people haven’t ever heard of it.) to see family.  We were on the road at 5:30.  In the a.m.  I had forgotten we had one of those because I’m never up that early.  It was an 8 hour drive that turned into a 10 hour drive because of construction and stupid people who don’t know how to drive accidents on the interstate.  Enjoy some pictures from our drive:

Here is the best shot of the sunrise I managed.  It’s really hard to focus on ANYTHING when you’re driving 80+ miles an hour.  Plus, I may or may not have read the instruction manual for my camera.  Don’t judge me. 

 

sunrise

 

We took Will’s Scion XB and put the back seats down.  We had A TON of stuff to pack for 9 days for 2 adults and 2 dogs.  When we take the dogs anywhere, Guinness has a habit of standing up and putting his head in between the seats and drooling on Will and myself.  This is very annoying.  So we decided to put all the suitcases and luggage right behind the seats to create a barrier between us and the dogs.  They still had plenty of room, but of course they kept  sitting up to see us over all the bags:

Guinness is not amused by our craftiness, and Mia looks like she has a handlebar mustache because we were driving with the windows down.  It was nice and cool outside and this kept the car from smelling like dog too much.

We saw A LOT of this throughout the 10 hour drive:

 

This shows how much room they had back there.  Of course Guinness never let Mia have her own personal space, but how is that any different than any other time, really?

After a while, the dogs were getting bored and they were ready to be out of the car already (don’t worry, we made several stops for them to walk around and use the bathroom, we didn’t drive 600+ miles without stopping.)  We started to see more and more of this:

 

Will took this one from the drivers seat (I was holding the steering wheel) because it was so funny.  To me it looks like she is chuckling.

 

I can hear his thoughts “Are we there yet?”

 

“I’m booorrrreeeeed, Mommy, how long??”

 

We finally made it after a  loooonnnnnnggggg TEN HOUR car ride with two impatient dogs.  We went to my parents house and unloaded all of our things into the guest room and then we shot down to Will’s parents house b/c he was going to a Thrashers Game with his dad (Thrashers Won!!) and I went back to my parents house to RELAX.  While we were there, we got to see my Mom’s dogs.

Samson:

 

 

And Missy:

 

I love that little tongue!!

 

We spent the next 4 days at my Mom’s house, hanging out with family, eating waaayyy too much good food (I actually got my family to try edamame!! And they liked it!!!), and playing Wii Fit, Guitar Hero, Mario, card games, board games (Harry Potter’s Clue, anyone??) and Will and I went to see Bolt with his little brother and sister.  Oh yeah, we also cleaned up dog vomit.  Twice.  Because BOTH of our dogs ended up sick.  Mia was the perpetrator of the vomit and Guinness ended up with an eye infection and diarrhea.  What fun that was, let me tell you.  We had been invited to meet our first blogger friend  puddle of ink IRL (In Real Life, for those  of you who aren’t as nerdy as me), but unfortunately we couldn’t b/c the dogs were sick.  (Next time, I promise!!)

Tuesday night we opened Christmas Gifts with my parents.  My Mom bought us a Wii, Wii Fit, Guitar Hero World Tour for the Wii (she kept the drums and microphone, though) and the accessory kit for the Wii fit.  She also gave us a few games she had bought for the Wii and didn’t like, so we ended up with 6 games and a ton of accessories in the end.  My parents got CJ (my brother) and his wife Mandy a 42″ Samsung Plasma TV and the wall bracket.  She ended up getting a GREAT deal from HHGregg and got the tv for 600$ and the bracket for FREE!! My Mom is seriously one of the best bargain shoppers I know.  It amazes me sometimes.  Will was so freakin’ excited that my parents kept making jokes about Will kicking me out of the bed so that the Wii had a nice, warm place to sleep.  Or finding Will sleeping in the living room to keep the Wii company. Of course, before we got to open ours, Will was playing my Mom’s incessantly.  So much so that even Guinness protested:

So cute, right??  Anyhow, Wednesday morning,  we packed up the car again and spent the last 3 nights (was supposed to be 4, but Will wanted to go home early) at his parents house where our dogs got to see Riley, Will’s parents Great Pyrenees.  His breed is a cousin breed with Guinness’, the Bernese Mountain Dog, so we ended up with two HUGE, slobbery, high energy dogs in tiny spaces. Yay!  (on a side note, Will’s mom had a creme for Guinness’ eye that she had used when Riley had scratched his eye that she got from the Vet, and we used it on Guinness.  Within TWO days, his eye was pretty much back to normal.  The diarrhea went away, I think it was just from being nervous and stressed out about the traveling.)  Anyhow, check out Riley:

 

 

 

 

 

Adorable, right??

**DISCLAIMER**

I realize that I take a lot of pictures of animals, but that is only because NO ONE in mine or Will’s family really wants their pictures taken and EVERY time I put a picture of Will on here, he bitches.  But I’m standing strong and I’m posting some of the pictures from Christmas whether he wants me to or not (sorry, babe.  I love you!)

Christmas Eve, we had the gathering at Will’s grandmother’s house and then we spent the night at Will’s parents so that we were there Christmas morning to see the kids open their presents:

Morgan with her Tinkerbell Towels

 

And like any other 11 year old girl, 90% of her christmas was……

HANNAH MONTANA!!! OMG!!! I LOOOOVVVVEEEEEE HANNAH MONTANA!!!!! MILEY CYRUS IS THE BEST!!!!!!!

sorry.  the 11 year old in me was too excited to contain that much longer.

And of course, like any other 12 year old boy, Ryan got the typical Star Wars items:

We got him the first two books in a Star Trek series, just to round things out.

And like any good Christmas morning, there was one suprise gift for each of them:

Their very own Guitar Hero World Tour!!! Each of them got their own, because like true siblings, they would fight over just one.

And of course Will’s parents didn’t leave us out.  We also got Guitar Hero World Tour for the PS2, but since we’d gotten it for the Wii, Will’s Mom took it back and got us another Wii controller and the rechargable battery stand.  Will also got some socks, underwear, and boxers (staples from his mom every year) and I got a few shots of him opening his presents:

And hugging his sister:

 

Next up were Will’s parents.  His Mom got a new bracelet:

 

And his dad got a Garmin GPS System:

 

Everyone was pretty happy all around.  Can you guess what Will did next while we were waiting on his dad to make Christmas morning breakfast?? Did he help the kids set up their Guitar Hero??  Nah……..he did this:

 

Hooked up and played the Wii.   Because he couldn’t stop himself.  

We can’t leave out the dogs on Christmas.  Neither of our dogs got anything this year, but Mia wanted to make sure she got the proper amount of attention:

She started with Me before unwrapping began:

 

And then moved over to Will’s Dad for some affection:

 

And then over to Ryan:

 

And then over to Morgan:

 

And just to round things out, back to Mommy:

 

We spent the rest of the week at Will’s parents enjoying good food, good company, and LOTS of Wii. 

Friday, I saw some lifelong friends of mine for brunch, but I forgot my camera.  As soon as Ashley posts her pictures, I’ll link to them.

Saturday, we packed up and made the 10 hour drive home.  Since I was on the road and didn’t have any photoshop, I missed this week’s Exposaroonie challenge, but here are some Christmas-y pictures for your enjoyment:

A Nativity Scene from Will’s Parent’s front yard:

 

One of the blow up Santas with condensation from the rain on his face.  It made me laugh b/c it looks like sweat to me and he looks nervous.

 

And my favorite shot with the christmas lights.  This one was kind of accidental, but it ended up as my favorite.  It’s the one I would have chosen for the Exposaroonie Challenge  if I had made the deadline:

(Don’t forget to go over there and vote for your favorite!!)

 

And then I started “painting with light” using the Christmas lights.

 

I have a ton more of those, but I didn’t edit them and I figure you can only see so many before they get boring.  I did manage to get my tri-pod and my point and shoot camera w/ video from storage at my Mom’s house before we left, so hopefully I’ll be able to do a Vlog soon (video blog, for those of you who aren’t as dorky as me). 

Saturday when we arrived home, we got the key back from Trent and Nicole (they were checking in on the cats for us, did I forget to mention that??) and we walked in to find this:

 

 

 

Before we left, Trent had mentioned that they had bought Shae a new kennel because he was out-growing this one and I offered to buy the old one off of them, but instead, Mia got it for Christmas and we were able to throw away her old kennel that had a huge bump in the middle and now she has one that matches Guinness’, except smaller.  So, lots of thanks to Trent, Nicole and Shae!!  She likes this kennel A LOT more.  She has even started getting in it when she doesn’t have to and sleeping in there!!

Since this will be my last post of 2008, I thought I’d say THANK YOU to all the wonderful people I’ve “met” by starting this blog who have given me support and encouragement these past 7 months.  Here’s to another year!!

1 Comment

  1. inkpuddle said,

    January 3, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    Sounds busy, wow! I’m still trying to sort through the happenings of our holidays (well, okay and all my pictures). Missed getting to see you, but we’ll definitely catch you next time around!


Leave a Reply

