Falling off the fence

Lately, Will and I have been going back and forth about the amount of television that we watch.  We both enjoy t.v. and we love the freedom our TiVo provides, but when he isn’t working, we sit together on the couch and clear the TiVo off in an evening – instead of doing things like walking the dogs, or taking pictures, or interacting with one another.  Now, don’t misunderstand, we cuddle and play around with each other, it’s not like we’re ignoring each other, but we don’t have conversations.  We’ve also been lamenting about how sedentary our lives have become and how we’d love to do  more things, be  more active, and we both realize that we  are the only ones in our way.  We’re not stupid people, we know exactly where this type of lifestyle leads, and neither of us want to keep ‘riding the fence’, but habits are hard to change.  After reading this article, I think I have fallen off full force and landed on my exceptionally cushy behind on the pro-active, less-television side of the fence.  I’ve been feeling down about my weight and the lack of activity in my life, so I guess it’s time to stop complaining and DO SOMETHING about it.  Now, I’m not as brave  as some– I’m not about to post before and after pictures of myself, but I will chronicle my activities/food/t.v time just to hold myself accountable, and I really hope that you guys will help me in this endeavor.  I’m a creature of habit, and when Will is at SB in the evenings, it’s easy for me to waste an entire evening flipping through inane t.v. programs that I’m only half watching and sit on the couch instead of doing something productive………so I guess what I’m saying is that it’s time for a change.  We already eat pretty healthy, we rarely ever eat out because of budget concerns, and we buy as little processed food as possible, preferring to make everything from scratch, so if you have any good, healthy recipes to share, send them my way!!

1 Comment

  1. Steph said,

    November 18, 2008 at 12:52 pm

    How exciting! This sounds exactly like us.. We just this past week decided that we will not sit and watch our TV shows on weeknights. Instead we will just save them up and watch them on Saturday. That way there is no excuse for us not to go to the gym. Hopefully this works!


Leave a Reply

