A new hope

Like many Americans and non-Americans alike, Will and I stayed up waaaayyyy too late listening to the election coverage.  We waited patiently (sorta) for Obama’s acceptance speech and we were honestly moved.  That man can give a speech, for sure.

Because of last nights results, I am so proud and excited to be part of the generation that helped elect our nations president, not because OR in spite of his race (who cares!!!) but because of his innate ability to bring people together with one vision of what our future SHOULD be.   I am looking toward the future with more hope and optimism than ever before and wondering for the first time, what can I do to make this a country that I am truly proud to call my home.  I know that a lot of people I love and respect didn’t vote for Obama and feel like this is a HUGE mistake for our country as a whole and probably feel like I am gullible and following the mainstream, but that just isn’t so.  I took my time, researched the issues, ignored the propaganda, googled the candidates voting history, and made my choice using my head and my heart.  I fully believe in the HOPE for CHANGE that Obama represents, but I also know better than to expect results overnight.  Changing a nation isn’t going to happen quickly.  Read that again. Changing. A. Nation.  That is what we hope to do, and for anyone who thinks that after one year, or one four-year term that will be accomplished, they are wrong.  I, for one, am looking forward to doing my part to help make this the nation I was always taught about in school, the one where patriotism is alive and people take pride in their country and are not embarassed by it or it’s leaders.  Call me naive and gullible if you want, but I simply call it optimistic.  The only dark spot on this election for me it the ban on gay marriage that seems to have passed so easily.  I personally feel that banning gay marriage is discrimination – plain and simple.  There is a separation of church and state in politics, so I’m not sure why this is even an issue.  People should be able to marry whom ever they choose to give their hearts to, without the government interfering.  LEGALLY allowing gay marriage doesn’t fly into the face of anyone’s beliefs because it’s a matter of the LAW and not RELIGION.  Plus, they don’t have to attend same sex weddings, be friends with same sex couples, and are basically free to keep bigotry alive an well in their own homes.  Maybe over the next four years, we can see a resolve on this issue that doesn’t involve such hatred toward anyone who is different.  Until then, whenever the issue comes up, you’ll find me at the polls, voting FOR gay marriage and the end to the last wave of discrimination in our country.

 

2 Comments

  1. Steph Corwin said,

    November 5, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    okay I already emailed you, but yes amen, agreed, exactly.

  2. inkpuddle said,

    November 6, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    Right there with ya.


Leave a Reply

