Politics

I am 27 years old and I registered to vote for the first time this year because this is the first election that I have felt it’s important that I vote.  I’m not going to go on and on about who I’m voting for and why, because I personally believe that I don’t have to defend my choice. I’m also not going to ridicule or chastise someone else for their views, I just think it’s really important to know the facts each candidate represents and not get caught up in the marketing of either one.  I really respect the people who are trying to do just that, and after reading this post, I immediately thought about an Against Me! song that I love and wanted to share with you.

 So, while you may already know who you’re voting for and feel confident about your choice, I urge you to “Stop! Take some time to think, figure out what’s important to you! You’ve got to make a serious decision!” that could affect life as we know it.  I truly feel in my heart that this is one of the most important elections in history for the several reasons.  The obvious and totally superficial being that either a woman or a black man will end up in the White House.  While I am in support of one candidate over the other and I consider myself an Independent Voter, I don’t necessarily agree with every issue that particular candidate supports/condemns.  So, for the next 50 days or so, I will be thinking hard about what is most important to me and how I would like to see things develop for the future and come November 21st, I will vote with my heart AND my head and I hope you do the same.

Leave a Reply

