Compatibility

For those of you who don’t know me personally (or IRL as the blogging community writes it)  then i have a (somewhat) interesting story for you today!!  It is the story of how Will and I came to be a couple. 

Will and I met circa 1997ish.  I was working as a shift manager at the local Schlotzsky’s Deli when a friend of Will’s recommended him for a job there.  The first day that Will started, he was left to ME to show around and “train”.  His first interaction with me he SWEARS that I was cursing Winn (the creepy, inappropriate, watching-p0rn-on-the-office-computer, black-albino manager) because he always had me do everything while he went and “pulled his pork” in the office.  Will was apparently terrified, but also slightly intrigued by me.  While the next few interactions between us are nothing to write home about and because I don’t really remember them, I’ll skip ahead a few weeks/months/whatever to a random Friday night when I REALLY wanted to go see Urban Legend (don’t judge me) and none of my friends wanted to go, but I didn’t have a license at that point (another post for another day) and I apparently hijacked Will and his Mom’s car (known from here on out as the Momobile) and demanded that he go see this movie with me.  Now, this is a pivotal moment, for it defines the rest of our relationship; I demand, he gives in.  A good arrangement, no? 

So, Will and I had our first “date” of sorts, and quickly became best friends.  We were there for each other through other relationships, high school graduations, parental problems, college, and he was there for me when all three of my remaining grandparents passed away.  In 2001, we decided to become roommates, so we got an apartment together in Peachtree City with another friend of mine.  That situation lasted about 3 months before it fell apart, so we transferred into a two bedroom apartment and lived there together for 2 years total.  During this time, some small things shifted in our relationship and Will developed feelings for me that I didn’t reciprocate right away which led to hurt feelings and unnecessary drama between the two of us.  Eventually, it was decided that he would be moving out on his own and our friendship really suffered.  We didn’t really speak for about a year, which was really hard for me because Will was my best friend and I felt really bad about hurting him.  

Flash forward to the end of that torturous year and to an (un)fortunate* series of events that left Will fired from his job at the hospital he had been working for, and pulling double duty as a server and doing his first stint at a SB just to make ends meet.  I happened to casually mention this to my Mom who automatically offers Will a job at the lumber company and this is how Will and I started talking again.  (Un)fortunately**, Will didn’t last long at the lumber company but did find his current career path in Medical Pimping (or Nurse Recruiting, whatever) where he “rents” women to facilities by the hour.  After a few months of hanging out with Will again, I just knew in my heart that I couldn’t ever be without him again (plus he grew out that horrible go tee and grew in that awesome, sexy beard***) and so we tentatively started “dating”; which is kind of what we were already doing, minus hand holding and kissing and all that other gross stuff.    And the rest, as they say, is history.  Why did I divulge all this information to you, you ask??  Well, I happened upon a compatibility tool on Yahoo! (yes, I’m bored at work) and decided to see how accurate it was.  Well, check it out for yourself: 

Virgo (ME!! 9/22) and Taurus (Will 5/19)

Taurus & Virgo

When Taurus and Virgo come together in a love affair, it’s a union of innate practicality. Both of these Signs employ practicality in their daily lives as the most efficient means to most problems. They can be quite sincere and devoted to one another; as people, both have a great deal of integrity. Virgo likes Taurus’s strength and dedication while Taurus appreciates Virgo’s quick mind.

Due to Virgo’s naturally cautious nature, this relationship can take awhile to develop, (HA! That is an understatement) but once it’s established that both partners are in it for the long haul, it’s like a runaway locomotive, running on its own power and difficult to stop. These two Signs have much in common: They highly value common sense and practicality; they’re both materialistic but work hard for the creature comforts they so enjoy. Taurus is more sensual and indulgent than Virgo is; Virgo tends to be the inhibiting force in the relationship, tending not to get involved in the chaos of life in favor of analyzing all available options. Virgo’s analysis leads to criticism (Me, nag or criticize? Never!),which Taurus can tend to take too seriously. Conversely, Taurus’s stubborn (as hell) nature can get on Virgo’s nerves, causing Virgo to criticize even more! This pair must take care not to take one another too seriously. The good thing is, they’re similar enough that they can learn to be patient with one another, especially Virgo, who loves to indulge Taurus’s penchant for fine treatment and good food.

Taurus is ruled by Venus (Love and Money) and Virgo is ruled by Mercury (Communication). Both of these Planets are close to the Sun, so they’re closely related though they seem very different. Venus is physical; it’s about romance and sensuality, both of which are important to Taurus. Mercury is about communication and it’s androgynous — Virgo will take on the form that it chooses. Virgo is very good at understanding other people and can easily learn to be the romantic and sensual partner that Taurus loves. Both partners are so devoted and romantic, their arguments surely won’t focus on those issues.

Taurus and Virgo are both Earth Signs. Earth Signs are steady and practical, concerned with possessions. Taurus and Virgo together love to surround themselves with beautiful things — an opulent home, gorgeous artwork, classy cars. Their love of luxury and their desire to be financially secure ensure that this couple will work hard who never overspend. (Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!! If that were only true)

Taurus is a Fixed Sign and Virgo is a Mutable Sign. Taurus is stubborn and tends to make up their mind for good; more flexible Virgo can help teach Taurus the value in bending the mind a bit — when it’s practical, of course.

What’s the best aspect of the Taurus-Virgo relationship? Their dedication to working toward the same goals. Both partners enjoy luxury and nice things, and Virgo likes helping Taurus achieve their goals. Their common interests and desires make theirs a highly compatible relationship.

Creepy accurate, right? So there you have it, folks – Will and I in a nutshell. Go do one for yourself and leave a comment letting me know if yours was accurate/way off the mark!

 * It’s only unfortunate because he got fired and had to work two jobs, but fortunate because it was the event that put us back into each others lives.

** It’s unfortunate because it didn’t work out, but if he hadn’t gotten fired, then I wouldn’t have been hired and gotten out of doing resturaunt management.

*** As condition of our relationship agreement, he can NEVER under any circumstances shave his beard.  I love the beard and if it goes, I go.

2 Comments

  1. September 18, 2008 at 1:40 am

    Aw, what an awesome story… and what a creepy-accurate reading. Can’t wait to try it on me and the Mr., which, if you’ll excuse me, is exactly where I’m headed right now!

  2. Steph Corwin said,

    September 19, 2008 at 12:14 am

    What a great story! I think any couple that reunites after time apart is just meant to be together.


Leave a Reply

