Zoo Pictures!

As promised, I will post some of the zoo pictures from Labor Day and I’m sorry that I missed Furday Friday, I’ll try to make up for it this Friday.  Unfortunately, some financial stuff has gone down with Will and I (meaning no more Disney)and this past weekend was pretty stressful.  Stress for me = A Crohn’s Episode, so I’ve been feeling pretty crappy all week and if that weren’t enough, Mother Nature decides that it’s time for her to put her two cents in as well, so I was a great big baby all weekend because all I really wanted to do was SLEEP and CRY, so I did.

 The weekend wasn’t all bad, though.  Saturday, Will went to Publix and picked up some stuff for us to make a really great breakfast of scrambled cheesey eggs, home-made home fries with salsa and sour cream, and BACON!! OMG – it was delicious!  It totally helped me with Mother Nature and her absurd cravings.  Unfortunately, Will also had to close at SB all weekend, so what that meant for me was a lot of boredom, napping on the couch, and movie watching.  Shouldn’t I have been cleaning, you ask?  Of course, but when your stomach is so upset that you can’t walk 3 feet w/o needing to rush to the toilet, staying put on the couch and taking it easy is a much better than a clean house. 

Getting back to the point, PICTURES!!!  Here you go:

This incredibly cute little lizard jumped out at me when I was taking some photos of a couple of birds.  And then he just sat there and stared at me, posing for the camera like a pro.

 

I happened to see this little guy while I was taking pictures of some of the flowers they had planted.  You can barely tell in this picture, but he is missing most of his tail.

 

And here is the most colorful tree frog I’ve ever seen in real life (shot through glass):

It wouldn’t be a complete visit to the zoo without a turtle (shot through glass):

 

Some of the statues they had in their Incan area:

 

 

And a cute squirrel eating the corn that is put out for the wandering birds and lizards:

A cute little fox that was sleeping.  I really wanted to put him in my camera bag and take him home! (shot through a fence by Will)

A Peacock that Will was able to feed:

A duck that was waiting beside the little food machine for someone to buy food and feed it.  Of course, Will does this and the duck bites him.  I was afraid to get too close with my camera because I just KNEW he would peck at it and break my only lens.

These are the birds I was shooting when the first lizard scared the bejeezsus out of me (this photo taken by Will):

These birds were mean, they would SQUUUAAAAKKKK really loud if you looked at them.  When we were taking their pictures, they were making all kinds of noise, so we didn’t stay long. (this photo by Me):

A Flamingo:

In the small reptile exhibit they had, I snapped this picture of a crocodile/alligator – I’m really not sure which.  Anyhow, I had gotten a comparison shot of the body under water, but someone stood directly in front of it and their reflection effed up my shot, so you only get the blurry, shot through the glass, head above water:

There were a TON more photos that were taken, but these are all I’ve taken the time to edit and upload onto Flickr.  You can check back in with one of my two flickr accounts(I’m too cheap to purchase right now and I want to be able to view all 200) later, if you are interested in any I edit in the future.

5 Comments

  1. Enjoyer of the Journey said,

    September 11, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    These are great pictures!! What type of additional lenses, if any, did you use??

    Jeni – http://friendphotog.wordpress.com/

  2. Christina said,

    September 11, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    I’m sorry for the drama that life has thrown at you. :o( Unfortuantely, I understand much too well! Your zoo shots are fantastic – especialyl the lizard and tree frog!

  3. snarkygirl08 said,

    September 11, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    Thanks! I didn’t use any additional lenses, just the standard that came with my Nikon. I’d love to purchase some new lenses (fisheye, macro, and wideangle), but with our current financial status, that is just a dream.

  4. Enjoyer of the Journey said,

    September 11, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    Well either way your shots are fantastic!!

  5. September 12, 2008 at 12:04 am

    I want to be your flickrfriend! My username is monster nikki. (although it might be one word, I can’t remember. It’s linked from my blog though.)


Leave a Reply

