Working with Textures

After reading this post a while back, I’ve really been wanting to try using textures.  So, for your judging pleasure, here are my first 3 attempts:

When we were at the zoo on Labor Day, there was a carousel there, so I took some pictures and I felt that these were the best candidates for textures.  The first one is manatee using this texture.

The second one is a white lion using this texture.  I’m not thrilled at how blown out the tiger still looks, but I like the vintage feel of the carousel.

The Dragon was my favoriate, and it’s also my favoriate photo.  I used this texture and feel like it came out better than expected.

So, comment, let me know what you think.  Any tips to share, other websites that offer great textures??  I’ll post some of the other zoo photos later after I finish editing them.

2 Comments

  1. Matt George said,

    September 4, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    They are all strong textures I think, but the last texture is best I think.

  2. Christina said,

    September 8, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    Great work – I especially love the dragon one. I’m glad you found the post helpful. Sorry it took me so long to stop by…been occupied with medical drama!


Leave a Reply

