There is a ringing in my ears

This past holiday weekend, Will’s family came into town.  I enjoy it when we have company, but for some reason, part of me also feels kinda hijacked.  I mean, our entire routine is busted, the television becomes property of whoever gets to it first and usually ends up on some kind of children’s cartoon that I do not understand, star trek, star wars, mash, airline documentary, or other falling-asleep-sitting-up-because-this-program-is-for-old-people tv show.  This weekend was no exception.  The house was filled with two yelling, whiny, kids filled with prepubescent attitude, two dogs terrorizing everyone with cold noses, wet tongues, and heavy paws on their feet, two adults yelling at the two kids, and Will and I yelling at the dogs, the kids, and the parents to “Sshhhh, be quiet, we’re right here, you don’t have to yell.” 

The weekend wasn’t all bad.  We had some good times when we got out of our tiny little townhome.  We went to the local turtle rescue, which honestly, I think I loved more than anyone because I LOVE turtles.  Especially sea turtles.  They were so cute and not only did I get to adopt one, but Will and I picked up volunteer forms!!(If this is a cause you are interested in, please donate.)  Of course, I in all the chaos of getting 6 people out the door, I walked right out and forgot my camera, so I didn’t get any pictures, but Will and I plan on going back, so I’ll get them then.

We also went to the movies, the boys all saw Indiana Jones and us girls went to see Wall·E which was super cute.  I loved it so much!!  A good time was had by all that day.  We took them to some of our favorite eateries such as Dune Dogs and Too Jays, and up to Stewart to play mini-golf and out for ice cream at Sloan’s.  The kids were in rare form most of the weekend with all the whining and fighting and crying and screaming.  I swear, it makes me so happy right now that Will and I do not have any kids.  I mean, the very minute that they left, the house went SILENT. Like a sonic boom in reverse. After Will dropped them off at the airport (at like 6:00 a.m.) he came home and we slept the undisturbed, perfect sleep of people without children until about 10:30.

Now, don’t think I’m complaining about them all the time, because usually they are much better behaved then they were this weekend, and usually I am not as irritable as I was this weekend.  This past visit was just a little hard on us all, I think, and we will have to all do better next time they come down which will be in October.  Will and I will be going back home at the end of this month for my brothers wedding on the first of August, so we will see them then.

Yesterday,  We took the dogs to the beach after we woke up, and of course I remembered my camera then.  I will post some pictures later from July 4th and the beach, I just have to go through them all.  Until then, go vote for your favorite photo in this week’s exposaroonie challenge.  I didn’t get a chance to take a photo this week, it was all to hectic, but I will be participating in next week.

Exposaroonie - Expose Yourself

Leave a Reply

