Celebrating Friendship

Not too many people are lucky enough to say that they have had a best friend for 23 years.  I am one of those few people. This post is a celebration of that friendship.

Ashley and I used to live one house apart from one another growing up.  We met under some pretty cute/odd circumstances.  She was outside one afternoon looking for her cat named “Nikki” who had run away.  I (also nick-named Nikki, short for Nichole) am also outside playing all by my lonesome when, in the distance, I can hear someone yelling out my name “Niiikkkkkiiiii…..where are you Niiiikkkkkkiiiii?”

Now, as a five year old, I’m kinda freaked out, but instinctively, what do I do? I answer “I’m right here!” (Like that was any help at all, where is here?) So, of course, she thinks I am her cat answering her and she runs back inside to tell her mom all about it.  I’m a little blurry on the details after that, but needless to say, we’ve been best friends ever since.  I practically LIVED at her house growing up, went on all her family vacations, and considered her parents my “other” parents. Her family dynamic was so different than mine, I honestly feel that her family helped me get a different perspective on life than just my parents alone and for that I am grateful. 

We went to kindergarten through the fourth grade together practically attached at the hip. She moved to another county (only about half an hour away, but for me it felt like another country at the time) at the beginning of fifth grade.  Suddenly, I was alone.  We made it through okay, made some other friends, but always stayed close. Through the years we have had our ups and downs and we haven’t always seen eye to eye, but we’ve always been there for each other no. matter. what.

She and I have really grown up together.  I was there for her wedding, the birth of her son, and her and her husband buying their first home. She was there for me almost every day I was in the hospital keeping me company while everyone else was at work and taking care of me so I didn’t have to call in a nurse.  She will be there at my wedding and the birth of my children and when Will and I purchase our first home in Florida.  Word can’t always express my love for this person because she is more than my friend, she is my family.

Recently, she has gone through some positive changes in her life and I cannot express how happy I am for her.  So, I went onto her myspace page and stole some of her pictures, edited them and am going to post them so you can see for yourself what a beautiful person my best friend is, inside and out. Enjoy, and Ashley, don’t be mad, I love you, girl!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is a celebration of almost a quarter of a century old friendship. Sounds much more serious that way, huh?  Here’s to making it to half a century.

Leave a Reply

