Oooh, I’m dangerous, baby!

I don’t consider myself a culinary expert or anything, but sometimes I like to try to cook new things.  This week has been all about learning to make sauces and I started with something very simple: an orange juice reduction sauce that I put onto pork chops.  (I’ll post the ingredients at the end of my post if you’re interested and want to try to make it yourself.) Anyhow, last night I made the orange juice pork chops and succotash.  It turned out to be very delish. Tonight, however, I decided to cook tilapia, ginger-citrus snap peas, and roasted red potatoes.  This dinner turned out even better than I had anticipated.  I cooked the tilapia in a garlic, rosemary and olive oil rub and put it into the oven.  I boiled the sweet snap peas in a mixture of orange juice, crushed red pepper, minced ginger, and soy sauce.  I mixed all those ingredients and just boiled the snap peas in that instead of water.  I was a little worried, but they turned out FANTASTIC!  I just coated the red potatoes in salt, pepper, and olive oil and baked them in the oven.  The entire dinner was so yummy.  Anyhow, Will came home for about 45 minutes between jobs so we had dinner together, and the following conversation took place:

Will:  mmmm, this is really good, baby.

Me: Yeah, I figure you keep me around for at least two things.

Will: I guess we can upgrade your status to include kitchen ninja.

So, while I am no “Iron Chef” I do get to be the kitchen ninja too (proud smile) and that makes me pretty darn happy.

 

Pork Chop recipe:

1 lb thin cut lean pork chops – coat with course salt and fresh ground pepper on both sides and sear in a hot pan with 2 tbsp of hot olive oil. Set aside.

Mix 1 1/2 cups orange juice (freshly squeezed if you want, but I used Simply Orange no pulp) with 1 tbsp brown sugar, 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar, orange zest and crushed red pepper flakes to taste.  Place this mixture into your hot pan with your pork chop “leave ins” and reduce.  When some of the liquid starts to boil away, add your pork chops back in and cook until the sauce is more of a glaze.  Enjoy!!

If you try this, let me know if you like it and how it worked out….this was the first time I had cooked it and I found it to be absolutely delish.  I do think that next time I will use more red pepper, though, it was  a little sweet. 

 

Leave a Reply

