A new day, a new blog.

I was very unhappy with my blog on blogspot.com, it was  incredibly confusing and it kept deleting my posts, so I have officially abandoned it and moved to what I hope is a better location.  It will take me a while to navigate and learn to use this site, so until I do, I will be using the generic background and such.  Well, for anyone interested, let me tell you a little bit about me and why I am starting this blog. 

My name is Denae (de-nay) and I am 27 years old.  I grew up in a very small, very southern town and never really traveled anywhere (my first trip on an airplane was to the Bahamas when I was 25). My fiancee (Will) and I just moved to The Sunshine State with our four furry companions and truthfully, it’s not as bad as I thought it would be.  Sure, I miss my family, but it’s really hard to be sad when there is all this sunshine around. Also, I use the term “fiancee” loosely because Will and I are not officially engaged.  We have a ring that was his Mom’s engagement ring, but it is broken and we have to get it repaired, and since we don’t have a functional ring, we don’t have an official proposal, but we’re working on it.

I am currently working as an office manager for a very busy Physical Therapy office in Florida during the day and part-time nights and weekends, I am working at the LB (Lane Bryant).  Will does RN recruiting full-time and works at SB (Star Bucks) at night until we can get caught up on all of our moving expenses.  Will’s full-time recruiting job are the ones who asked us to relocate.  We agreed but with stipulations: they had to pay all of the moving expenses and our “break the lease” fee since they wanted us here FOUR months before our lease back home was up.  They agreed, but we couldn’t ever get them to put it down in writing.* This was to become mistake number one. They told us instead, to keep receipts and to turn in an expense report when all was said and done and they would reimburse us all at once.  So, we agreed to move and started putting a plan into action.  We found a place to live that cost us $600.00 more per monththen our place in Georgia, but the lucky thing about it was that we got the first two months free, so SCORE!, right?  We turned in our notice of intent to break the lease and paid our $800.00 and signed our new lease in FL and paid our $1,200.00 to the new complex for a townhouse all with our own money. Then we rented a U-Haul trailer, borrowed my uncle’s truck (gas) and had my cousin drive it down for us.   This was in February.  We moved that last weekend of Feb./March 1st.  Two weeks later, we still hadn’t received any reimbursement for the money we had shelled out (security deposit, pet fee, u-haul rental, break the lease fee, gas/mileage, etc.) and Will finally asked about it and his boss actually said to him “I talked it over with my accountant and we aren’t liable for any of those charges and we didn’t sign an agreement, so we won’t be paying that” I seriously wanted to EFFIN SCREAM.  But what can you do?  We had already moved, we didn’t have a written contract, and only a verbal “turn in your expenses” and no “we’ll pay for everything” verbal agreement, so for lack of a better phrase, we were f**ked.  We were out more than $2,000.00 and I still didn’t have a job.  So, now that you know the sordid financial details that leave us working two jobs each, you’ll understand why we have no repaired ring, no proposal, and almost no time to see each other.  I decided to start this blog because I don’t have Will to complain and share my day with all the time anymore, so now it will be you….don’t you feel lucky? This blog will just be about me, my life, things I’m interested in.  I plan to hold nothing back, to name names, and hopefully not offend anyone.  I am taking my cues from such great blogs as www.dooce.com and www.proseandconverse.wordpress.com both are blogs that I check obsessively and although I don’t have kids to blog about, I do have Will, my new adventures in FL, and my four furry companions I have at home.  So, I hope you enjoy reading about my life!

1 Comment

  1. May 25, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    Yay for the new blog!!! I will definitley be keeping tabs on you. And even though you didn’t give birth to your dogs, from what I know about them, they’re just as difficult (and entertaining!) as those human babies.

    Thank you so much for the mention- seeing my blog in the same sentence as Dooce made me scream out loud. I’m not kidding- you can ask my husband, who came bolting into the room to see what happened.

    See you soon!
    Nik (proseandconverse)


Leave a Reply

